Pre-Release Review of The Longest Ride, Movie Based on Nicholas Sparks’s Book

The Longest Ride

*Please note that I wrote this last week and didn’t have a chance to post until tonight!*

Huh. So, I was just about to start this post by saying something like “It was a pretty cool night in Sara Beth’s world,” which I admit, sounds kind of self-centered and really–using third person?–when I just realized something profound about the title of the movie I just saw–The Longest Ride. Anyhow, I better rewind a bit before I share my totally deep thought that just randomly popped in my head.

Tonight was a really neat night (I think that’s a bit less self-centered–hopefully you concur) because I got to attend an advanced screening of a new movie based on Nicholas Sparks’s book, The Longest Ride. Hachette, the publishing house I work for, published The Longest Ride so employees had the chance to see the film a couple of weeks before the general movie theater premiere date. FOX treated us very well–they gave every person tickets to redeem free popcorn and drinks as well as some delicious Baked by Melissa cupcakes. The president of FOX was even there to introduce the film.

Tickets and free food!

Anyways, the movie was just amazing. It was so romantic, beautiful, and such a tearjerker. I’m ashamed to admit that I teared up after having picked on my husband for YEARS for loving The Notebook. The plot of The Longest Ride intertwines two love stories. The first love story actually begins during the movie when Luke, a rodeo cowboy played by Clint Eastwood’s very fine looking son, Scott Eastwood, falls in love with Sophia, a college senior who is shortly to move away from North Carolina in order to pursue a New York City art career. Framing this modern day romance is the one involving 81-year-old Ira, whom Luke and Sophia save from a burning car crash. Ira recounts to Luke and Sophia the story of his love affair with his wife, Ruth, that spanned the decades between 1940 to her death. Pretty much, Ira’s sweet romance with his wife teaches Luke and Sophia that true love is worth fighting for and making sacrifices–something the two young lovers have to realize when their careers pull them in opposite directions.

I will end my review here before spoiling anything, but really–you have to see this movie. If you’re a romantic, bring some tissues. If you’re in a relationship that is experiencing more downs than ups lately, hopefully the movie will help you realize your love is worth hanging on to.

Now, I suppose you want to know about my “ah hah” moment. I feel like hitting myself in the head because it seems so obvious, but I just realized that The Longest Ride title is probably a play on the 8 seconds that Luke has to stay on the bull in order to receive the most points on a bull. Or, perhaps The Longest Ride could refer to riding through life with your love by your side? Or perhaps it could refer to the oooo lala scenes that showcase the ardent desire between two young lovers? Naughty naughty!

Whatever the meaning behind the title, nice work Hachette and Nicholas Sparks. Nice work!Nothing like books on shelves.

The Longest Ride opens in theaters on April 10th. Thanks to FOX for the movie poster image and movie shot in the featured image.

P.S. I haven’t read the book yet (it’s on my shelf!), so I can’t comment upon the similarities and differences between the book and movie adaptation. Head over to Amazon or Barnes and Noble to get your own copy today!

P.P.S. I get nothing from my employer for reviewing/promoting this book/movie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

